3 Unfulfilled Psychological Needs Responsible for The Great Resignation

Justin Taylor
Age of Awareness
Published in
6 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

This article was adapted/transcribed from a recent video on my YouTube channel (video embedded at end of article).

Right now we’re in the midst of what’s been deemed The Great Resignation as millions of Americans across the country are quitting their jobs.

In August alone, over 4.3 million people decided to part ways with their employers — the highest number recorded in a single month since the US Bureau of Labor started tracking this statistic 20 years ago. And that number is only expected to continue to accelerate in the coming months as more and more people decide to no longer be members of the traditional workforce.

It may seem as if these workers have collectively decided to stage some type of deliberate labor strike or premeditated workplace walkout, but the tension and frustrations that have led them to quit are by no means coincidental.

As someone that has spent many years in the corporate world, I’ve found myself far too many times on the verge of depression and burnout as I’ve allowed my life to completely revolve around maintaining a demanding career. Over the years, I’ve sacrificed much of my personal life, various relationships, and quite a bit of my physical and mental health in order to pursue more money, a higher title, and a…

--

--

Justin Taylor
Age of Awareness

My truest creative expression comes in the form of video. Find me on YouTube: 👉 https://bit.ly/3nA4D3b 👈