4 Things My Students Told Me About Using AI in My Storytelling Class

Lance Cummings PhD
Age of Awareness
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Image generated by Artspace.ai (affiliate)

One reason I am teaching AI & Digital Storytelling was to explore using AI with my students … not necessarily to teach them how to use AI tools.

AI technology progresses so fast … and new ways of using AI in writing are being shared by droves. It is impossible to keep up, let alone teach it. In less than a semester, we’ve seen GPT-4, Bing, Google Bard, and many other tools spring into being.

As we ourselves discuss and try to keep up with AI, it’s easy to miss student voices and perspectives. So last week, I hit the pause button and asked students what they are thinking about AI after using it to tell stories this semester.

I thought I’d share what I heard.

“AI helps with ideas without asking someone who may discredit them.”

Writer’s block is a real problem for students … and also fear of judgement. Students are using AI to trigger their imagination in what they perceive as a safe place. Writing can intimidate, and students often feel the pressure of judgement or criticism when they share their work. By using AI, students can have a safe space to explore ideas, free from judgement or criticism.

--

--

Lance Cummings PhD
Age of Awareness

🍎 Best practices for creating content, using AI, and fostering creativity | 🎯 Building a community of creator teachers on Medium