5 Quick Exercises to Start Cultivating Mindfulness

Meditation isn’t just for monks.

Elijah Seraphim
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Aleks Marinkovic on Unsplash

Meditation seems like such a daunting task.

This is a shame because it’s such a beneficial and attainable practice. I remember thinking about meditation as sitting in complete silence and emptying your mind for hours in order to achieve some kind of enlightenment.

When I thought about meditation I thought of monks sitting in a secluded temple, away from the distractions of the world, committing themselves to the achievement of a higher self. I didn’t think that it was something I could do as a busy college student or a 24-year-old with a 9–5 and a writing side hustle.

Because of this I always thought, “Well it would be nice to meditate” but I never got around to doing it.

That was until I learned what meditation was and how easily I could incorporate the practice of mindfulness into my everyday routine.

Here are 5 simple ways that you can incorporate a mindfulness-based meditation practice into your schedule. No matter how busy you are.

  1. Mindful Eating

Everybody has to eat so there is no excuse for not being able to do this practice. If you have time to eat, you have time to meditate.

--

--

Elijah Seraphim
Age of Awareness

Christian, Father, Husband, Carpenter, Writer. Living up north in the woods somewhere, writing about my family and my walk with God.