5 Reasons Why I Meditate with the Calm App

I’ve tried many meditation methods and the Calm app seems to check all my boxes

Chris Jennings
Age of Awareness

--

Photo courtesy of Calm

I’ve been meditating in various forms for well over a decade. I’ve done sessions at The San Francisco Zen Center, watched YouTube videos, and read countless books. I’ve even tried several different apps and websites over the years. But I keep coming back to using the Calm app. Since it was founded in 2012, Calm has been one of the most used apps on my phone. Here are 5 reasons why it’s worked well for me.

Reason 1 — The Daily Calm

Anytime you name a program or content “daily” anything, you clearly want people to become regular users of it. The Calm app offers up a daily suggested meditation for you when you open it up each day. These roughly ten-minute sessions are lead by Calm’s CEO of MIndfulness Tamara Levitt. Each session has a theme or key learning that may or may not tie-in to the day of the year or seasonality.

One of the biggest struggles new meditators have is knowing where to start. This eliminates this problem. If you just open the app and aren’t sure where to turn, just stick with today’s daily calm and you won’t be disappointed. The relatively short sessions can fit into your schedule quite easily. And aside from silent meditation time…

--

--

Chris Jennings
Age of Awareness

I write about the intersection of technology, productivity, and mindfulness. See more of my work at iterate.substack.com