7 Evidence-Based Ways To Stop Structural Racism

These strategies really work

Andrew Brodsky
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

Our streets are alight; our cities are on fire. Once again, America’s toxic disease of structural racism has reared its ugly head, this time amplified by viral video and social media.

When I saw the latest news, I was angry and confused, just like many of us. I had the usual question: How could this still be happening in the U.S.? What can I do to helpt?

Theses are human questions. Some have acted with peaceful protests; fewer still have reacted with violent rioting. “A riot is the language of the unheard,” said Martin Luther King, Jr., in his 1967 speech, “The Other America.”

That may be true, and in a certain sense riots may be understandable releases of anger and frustration. But, as Dr. King said in the same speech, “I’ve always said, and I will always continue to say, that riots are socially destructive and self-defeating. I’m still convinced that nonviolence is the most potent weapon available to oppressed people in their struggle for freedom and justice. I feel that…

--

--

Andrew Brodsky
Age of Awareness

Writer, ultrarunner, seeker, progressive, skeptic, Ph.D. education researcher. Seeking the meaning of life, one mile at a time.