A Transphobic Conspiracy Theory Prepared Me To Beware COVID-19 Misinformation

I’m careful now not to let erroneous beliefs infect my brain.

Phoenix Huber
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Julia Raasch on Unsplash.

Hesitant and disgruntled, I clicked on the YouTube video. It claimed to reveal “proof” one of my favorite female athletes was actually a man.

Not my proudest online browsing moment. I laugh about the hoax now. But I learned something from the obnoxious mind-infection I incurred from this transphobic conspiracy theory several years ago. The experience forewarned me not to fall for COVID-19 misinformation.

Before that YouTube video (and other learning experiences), I thought I could trust myself to form accurate beliefs. To sort fact from fiction. I failed to recognize the impressionable nature of my thoughts and how easily influenced they are by hyper-stimulating internet content.

I knew from the start that the video’s premise was not something I could get behind. The title implied transgender people needed to be exposed. That trans ladies could not fairly compete in women’s sports. And, more broadly, perhaps that women’s bodies exist to be scrutinized for what constitutes a “real” woman.

It wasn’t worth my time, but I was annoyed and at the same time allured. I wanted to confirm how mistaken and off-base this…

--

--

Phoenix Huber
Age of Awareness

Trans girl. Beyond-human ally. I unite with members of my species for all sentient beings. Free hug: uberpath@gmail. Feed me: Ko-fi.com/phxhu