Neurodiversity | ADHD

And Then There Were 2(e)

My Journey of Diagnosis and Self-Discovery

Jillian Enright
Age of Awareness
Published in
9 min readApr 22, 2021

--

Photo by Tomáš Petz on Unsplash

Twice Exceptional

Our son was diagnosed with ADHD in March of 2019, then assessed as being cognitively gifted in June of 2019. A diagnosis of gifted+ (gifted, plus another diagnosis) is commonly referred to as “twice exceptional”, or 2e (more links about what it means to be 2e at the bottom of this article).

After our son was diagnosed, I took it upon myself to learn everything I possibly could about ADHD that I hadn’t learned in school. I quickly realized that my 10-year-old psych degree and 13-year-old CYW diploma were not nearly enough to make me an expert on the topic, so I made it my mission.

Photo by author, see my book list

And Then There Were 2(e)

It didn’t take me long to notice a lot of similarity between my son’s symptoms and struggles and my own, which is not entirely surprising, as ADHD is highly genetic and very commonly found in multiple family members.

I spoke to my family doctor and received a referral to a psychiatrist who specializes in Adult ADHD. In October 2019…

--

--

Jillian Enright
Age of Awareness

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.