Diversity is More Than Oppression Narratives: Black Kids Need Imaginative Books Too.

JQ Sirls
Age of Awareness
Published in
3 min readFeb 22, 2020

In a conversation about the picture books I’ve published and am working on, I was asked why my stories don’t have culturally specific topics, issues, or problems. To translate that question, they’re asking why I don’t have books that promote black pride to show kids that just because they do not look and sound like the majority, they are still special. This is typically done with books on skin, culture, and hair, etc. (headline topics that African Americans face the most bigotry and racism on), as well as historical non-fiction books on groundbreaking figures (people that history books forget to mention). I was then criticized, implying that I avoid those topics in a sell-out way to appeal to more racial groups.

Sigh.

Aside from “Hair,” which I only illustrated, but did not write or publish, I prefer to create stories that solely capture childlike wonder and imagination while visually showcasing representative imagery not commonly seen in picture books. Where The Wild Things Are, Cat in the Hat, The Giving Tree, Peter Pan, and Wizard of Oz are classic, imaginative stories that just-so-happen-to feature white characters unrelated to white issues — whatever that means. Those books molded my imagination and influenced the love and passion I have for literature. So why can’t I create the same type of stories and insert kids who look like my son?

I’m not avoiding those topics in a sell-out way to appeal to more racial groups; I avoid them so that black kids can revel in their colorful imaginations and see themselves outside of being “other.”

“Children’s books depicting people of color often avoid the imagination and creativity of fantasy and fiction — the genres young boys love most. Black historical figures are important, but black children should be able to find aspects of their culture and ethnic heritage outside of stereotypical nonfiction children’s books about history.”

–barbershopbooks.org

My upcoming book, The Moon is Following Me, features a nerdy little black boy who lives in the suburbs with his father, mother, and older brother.

Visually, you’ll see a black father helping his son with his homework and reading a bedtime story, you’ll see a black mother enjoying quality time with her son, and a black older brother being an older brother. However, the story is simply about a little boy’s hilariously miserable attempts to convince his family that the moon is following him every night.

I’m personally championing for the day when non-white or non-societal-norm characters are inserted in stories like Toy Story, and there is no significant press release on how inclusive the studio is. It’s an afterthought to an imaginative story.

There are so many great books about black history, black pride, and the celebration of what makes us unique. While I’m a fan of and wholeheartedly celebrate the authors and illustrators of those stories, I do not aspire to become one of them. That’s okay. I’m the guy who puts black kids in stories about monsters under the bed, imaginary friends, fantastical worlds, and the moon secretly being cheesy royalty. I think that’s just as cool. They all tell our complete story in the end.

JQ Sirls is an interdisciplinary artist, author, and designer working in bookmaking, painting, illustration, animation, and interactive design. He is the founder of Storytailor.ai, a children’s publishing platform that allows anyone to create personalized, inclusive, and educational stories for children aged 3–8 in minutes.

--

--