Breaking Free from Your Social Bubble: Discovering the World Beyond Stereotypes!

Zuley Dominguez
Age of Awareness
Published in
3 min read1 day ago

From a personal perspective, as a Salvadoran who moved to the U.S. a few years ago, I have experienced firsthand how living in a social bubble can be as limiting as thinking that the whole world revolves around your favorite menu. Instead of uncovering the fascinating stories of people from other countries, many prefer to stay within their comfort zones. However, by opening ourselves to new perspectives and experiences, we not only burst our own bubble but also discover a wealth of diversity that makes life much more exciting! Being curious and open allows us to genuinely connect with others, learn, and grow together.

From my experience, I’ve observed that living in a social bubble can foster a kind of ignorance that isn’t malicious, but simply a reflection of a lack of exposure to different realities. Psychology tells us that people tend to seek confirmation of their own beliefs (confirmation bias), which can result in a limited worldview. This tendency can make us appear ignorant or uninformed, as we are unwilling to consider perspectives that challenge our pre-existing beliefs.

Upon moving to the U.S., I noticed how people sometimes made assumptions about me based on stereotypes or preconceptions about my background. These stigmas not only distorted their understanding of who I am but also limited the possibility of forming meaningful connections. Instead of exploring my personal history and experiences, they clung to their own perceptions, which often led to misunderstandings and a reductive view of my reality.

Living within a social bubble can lead to the mistaken belief that our own experiences are the most valuable. However, I’ve learned that stepping out of our bubble and exploring new perspectives can greatly enrich our lives. Interacting with people from diverse backgrounds and cultures has allowed me to appreciate a range of experiences that go beyond what I knew in El Salvador.

Research shows that people who open themselves to different experiences and viewpoints tend to have greater life satisfaction. A study in the Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology found that those who engage with various cultures often experience a richer and more fulfilling life. By learning about others’ realities, we find value in experiences and perspectives that transcend our own social bubbles.

My experience as a Salvadoran out of my home country has taught me the importance of breaking free from social bubbles and preconceptions. By embracing new perspectives and being willing to learn from other’s experiences, we can build more meaningful relationships and lead a more fulfilling life. Empathy and curiosity about others’ realities not only enrich us personally but also foster a more inclusive, less ignorant, and more intellectually aware society.

Don’t deprive yourself of opening up to life and the worlds behind each person. Imagine if you didn’t regret attending concerts in different languages that eventually will become your Spotify favorites or eating at friends’ homes who prepared their delicious Ukrainian recipes. I’ve enjoyed the privilege of savoring an Argentine steak “medium rare, por favor” and hearing “Ché” every ten seconds. I’ve relished trying different wines in Venice with Italian friends I met on a trip, tasting delicious Venezuelan rice chicha, or enjoying their chocolates with the most expensive but exquisitely unique cocoa flavors that are worth every bite. I’ve shared boleros with my Mexican friends and drank tequilas with a smoky flavor, or gone with American friends to watch a baseball game while indulging in delicious cheese curds or brats, even if it meant a guilty second serving, or sampled their craft beers. “May I have an Amber Ale please?” All of this represents the richness that the world and life offer us. Every person has a world behind them that is either similar to or completely different from our own. Let’s not limit ourselves to exploring!

--

--

Zuley Dominguez
Age of Awareness

I’m Zuley, passionate about cross-cultural communication and social impact. I share insights on diverse perspectives to enrich our understanding of the world.