Building a Cardboard Planetarium

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readMar 8, 2021

--

One trip down a YouTube rabbit hole I stumbled across the ingenious Beals Science Cardboard Planetarium, a geodesic cardboard dome big enough to fit an entire secondary school classroom inside. I thought having a go at making my own scaled down version would be a perfect lockdown project.

Geodesic Domes

I had previously found some interesting dome constructions which set me on the path to finding this calculator for giving dimensions for dome parts. A geodesic dome is comprised of triangles grouped together to make hexagons and pentagons.

Pentagon and hexagon made out of triangles
Pentagon and hexagon formed from triangles.
net of a geodesic dome
The net of a geodesic dome.

My first exploration of geodesic domes used rolled up paper connected with split pins. And so it was I built a prison for my daughter!

Dome made out of straws.
Geodesic prison

--

--

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness

A school teacher and family man in the UK who likes tinkering with code and who sometimes tries to write good.