Changing Interactions

Navigating the world as a transgender man

Grayson Bell
Age of Awareness
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

I’m now perceived as male most of the time, both online and in public. Because of this, I have come to realize that I can no longer interact with others in the same way I used to. I’ve had to pause when responding to people and weigh my words, especially if I’m in a position where I either don’t want or shouldn’t out myself.

Geeking out on pop-culture

This may seem trivial, but when people discuss their crushes, especially celebrities, I never had to give a second thought about admitting mine. However, admitting to having crushes on male celebrities now either outs me as gay or trans (or both).

Depending on the group I’m interacting with, I don’t always want to out myself. More than once I’ve had to reign in my desire to share my pre-teen crushes on Donny Osmond and Shaun Cassidy, or my teen crushes on Richard Dean Anderson and David Hasselhoff. (Don’t judge. He was a tall, good-looking guy with an even cooler talking car. What’s not to love?)

In all seriousness, I have become much more aware of what kinds of pop-culture I geek out about and with whom. It’s a consideration I hadn’t thought I’d have to make. Discussing my love of old science fiction shows falls into the stereotypical realm of acceptable male interests…

--

--

Grayson Bell
Age of Awareness

An autistic, gay, transgender man writing queer fiction and about LGBTQ issues, focused on the transgender community. (He/Him) http://graysonbell.net/