Clearing The Air: The Importance of Racial Equity, Equality, and Unity in the United States

Julian Woodyard
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

President Joe Biden speaks during the the 59th inaugural ceremony on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on January 20, 2021 in Washington, DC (Patrick Semansky-Pool/Getty Images)

On January 20, 2021, Joe Biden transitioned from President-Elect to the United States President. While the capital was still on high alert from the insurrection on January 6, I listened to President Joe Biden’s inaugural address and the incorporation of unity. The idea, to me, seemed like a no brainer. The United States, in the last four years, was divided by controversial topics about race, politics, and values undermined and devalued because of Donald Trump’s unprofessional actions and disturbing antics. Unity was something that we all needed, and yet the concept seems so distant because of the pandemic and the scars left by the Trump administration.

The day after the inauguration, I was walking my aunt’s dog and came across an older gentleman. As I was making sure that he (My aunt’s dog) was not trying to run into the street, we engaged in conversation. Sadly, because of COVID-19, I could not exchange in any normalcy with people I used to see when I was walking the dog around the neighborhood. Casual conversations with others walking their dogs or just hanging out in the area felt so distant, and I thought that the reason for such caution was due to the apparent confusion brought about in handling this pandemic. People were scared, others were dying, and it didn’t seem like life was ever…

--

--

Julian Woodyard
Age of Awareness

A creative writer that focuses on gaming articles, narrative designing, and everything else in-between. https://roundaboutj.blog/