HUMOR

Death Is The New Holiday

I thought, “I could die today,” and it felt like my birthday

Daniel Williams
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readMar 23, 2024

--

by author

It happened on a sidewalk on the way to work:

The thought.

It was a bright warm day in February, and my brain made a discovery:

It could happen today.

Today could be the day I die.

I like sharing with students things I know. I tell them, “The day you die will feel exactly like today: a humdrum nothing of a day. Normal. It should feel different, special somehow, so important. It won’t. One of the most significant days of your life, and it’ll be a Tuesday. Probably in the middle of whatever month is equidistant from all holidays, then BOOM! You never saw it coming. Therefore, you weren’t thinking anything grand, and you didn’t just get done saying to someone ‘I love you’ or ‘Avenge me.’ If anything, you were having an argument fantasy, clobbering a person who clobbered you recently, most likely a middle schooler.”

Unless…

Unless you’re on the way to work and have an epiphany on a sidewalk and think,

Any second now, it could happen:

A rupture.

--

--

Daniel Williams
Age of Awareness

A poverty-stricken, soft Batman by night. Illustrator and writing teacher by day. Previously: McSweeney’s, Slackjaw.