Designing a Simple Home Vegetable Garden

My first foray into designing a home vegetable garden

Roy Herrod
Age of Awareness

--

Scattered seed packets
Seed Packets — Roy Herrod

I have made a few attempts to grow vegetables over the past 5 years with mixed success. I had one year with a good crop of tomatoes and a year with a reasonable amount of lettuce, but my attempts have been limited to growing in pots/small troughs on my old Townhouse’s balcony. This year however I planned to go bigger as our new house has a nice plot in the garden to the side of the deck which I think will work well.

Future Vegetable Patch (pre-weeding and work)

The plot measures about 12 feet long and 57–59 inch wide (I’m not sure why it isn’t straight). While no part of this plot gets sun all day, the right side gets the most and the rest gets progressively more shade from the surrounding trees.

I did a little research on how to lay out a vegetable garden and was surprised by both the variety of options and the complexity of the tools/systems that can be used to do this. As this is my first real venture into that world I decided to go with the “square foot” method which essentially means dividing to the space you have into square foot patches and planting one vegetable type in each plot. Within each single square…

--

--

Roy Herrod
Age of Awareness

I’m a father, a husband, a manager and a software engineer. Currently working on Azure Communication Services (Microsoft). Born in the UK, but living in the US.