Did You Know This About My Black Sisters?

If you didn’t, and you’re impressed (I am) please pass it on.

Julia E Hubbel
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2020

--

When we elevate stories that undermine the lie that Black Excellence doesn’t exist, we change the narrative. I found this on Linked In, and it was so good I had to share it.

For my part, as an Army veteran, one reason that I so love this story is that when I joined in 1973, both my drill sergeants in enlisted Basic Training were Black. One man, one woman. I remember being not only duly impressed by their professionalism, but they also fit my internal narrative that Black Excellence wasn’t rare. It was in fact, normal, but that’s because my parents saw and taught things differently. For that I am eternally grateful.

For those who are still struggling to find reasons to celebrate Black Female Excellence, here’s another:

From the article:

Despite her can-do attitude, Adams believed that she and her troops had been set up for failure. Before the formation of the Six Triple Eight, as the battalion was known, it

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Age of Awareness

Not writing here any more. I may crosspost. You can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ .Also visit me at WalkaboutSaga.com