Empty Your Cup: How to Gain Wisdom from Absolutely Any Source

There’s a reason this famous Zen philosophy is always relevant, now more than ever.

Adam Erland
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Manki Kim on Unsplash

One day, when I was still an undergrad student, I was hanging around aimlessly on campus. The last class for the day was done, but I haven’t found the desire to go home yet, so I waited for my friends to finish their respective classes.

I sat on a nearby bench and pulled out my phone to kill time, scrolling on a manga reader app to read My Hero Academia.

Not long after, a friend of mine walked by and saw what I was doing. She commented with a surprised look: “Whoa, you read comics too? I thought you’re only interested in thick philosophy books and whatnot.” — funnily enough, this is not the first or only time I received a similar comment.

People often tell me that my silent demeanor gives off a stern aura, and they judge me as a stiff person only interested in serious and complicated stuff. There’s some truth to that judgment. I do enjoy reading complex materials and diving into a vast and random range of subjects.

However, the likes of Socrates and Nietzsche are not the only people whose works have inspired me. I also learned a lot of valuable lessons from the creations of Christopher Nolan, Stan Lee…

--

--

Adam Erland
Age of Awareness

No longer writing on Medium. Read my essays for free on Substack: auslxnder.substack.com.