Examining Social Distancing’s Impact on Plus-Size People

Plus five ways you can mitigate the effects of social distancing if you are a fat person

Michelle V Scott, MSW, MS
Age of Awareness

--

COVID-19 swept into our lives this past March. And, just as the events of 09/11 or the AIDS epidemic, our worlds have changed dramatically.

For some people, this sentiment is not true. Nevertheless, I would say for a vast majority of people, profound change rings true.

I don’t know about all of you reading, but I will be the first to say I was not effing prepared for any of this shit.

I don’t mean I wasn’t prepared financially or with necessities. For that, I’m blessed and good. No. That was not my issue.

I was not prepared for the effing shit show that was Friday the 13th. Not sure what it looked like where you all live, but in Buffalo, N.Y. it was crazy.

I’ve heard of Friday the 13th being bad luck, but damn. 2020? What theeeeee fuck? Friday, March 13th made the term bad luck an understatement.

I went to the store that morning and was shocked as hell to see… well, a shit show. The supermarket looked like it had been hit by a bomb.

But that was not the only thing that looked concerning. The people in the supermarket looked…

--

--

Michelle V Scott, MSW, MS
Age of Awareness

Coach. Social Worker. Advocate. Activist. Reformer. Hater of the isms': Sizeism, Classism, Racism, and Sexism.