Four Online Learning Lessons to Note if you Taught this Past Fall

What we can learn from an unprecedented four months of teaching.

Murtaza Ali
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

At the start of this semester, I wrote an article describing four essential tips to know if you were teaching a course in the fall. For context, it may help to read that article first, as I will continually refer to it. With the semester now coming to a close, I want to take a moment to reflect on the points I raised and revise my original thoughts. My goal in reflecting is to understand the common pitfalls that instructors fell into this past semester, particularly those which resulted in a less-than-stellar learning experience. In the long run, I aim to identify the building blocks of an educational system that prioritizes student learning and moves away from the contemporary obsession with grades as the primary measure of performance.

Here’s a quick recap of my original four assertions:

  1. Implement a flipped classroom.
  2. Change exams to promote a growth mindset.
  3. Consider setting up an affordable home teaching studio.
  4. Remember your students’ mental and physical well-being is more important than your class.

--

--

Murtaza Ali
Age of Awareness

PhD student at the University of Washington. Interested in human-computer interaction, data visualization, and computer science education.