Four Things I was Ashamed of For Most of My Life

Become proud of your quirkiness, no matter what people tell you

Mathias Barra
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Dex Ezekiel on Unsplash

Society can be ruthless.

People make fun of you. They rarely notice when they say something truly hurtful. As a protective method, many turn to hiding what they actually think and say what seems to be the “right” answer.

I used to be one of those, afraid of showing who I truly was. I said what others wanted to hear. I did the right thing. I was polite towards people I secretly despised. I studied just enough to get acceptable grades but also not more so I wouldn’t stand out too much. I wanted to blend in the background.

That thought now disgusts me. Why be someone bland when your quirkiness is exactly what makes you extraordinary?

I hid who I truly was because society had taught me to be ashamed of them. These are four I struggled with for most of my life and am embracing more as the years pass.

I hope reading my story will help you start embracing the quirkiness you’re shameful about.

Anime is the bomb

I began watching anime in middle school. It was my first interaction with Japan and the very first time I actively thought I could enjoy learning a language. My brother…

--

--

Mathias Barra
Age of Awareness

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra