FUN EXPERIMENT, Growing Tomato Plant only in Water

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readMar 19, 2022
FUN EXPERIMENT, Growing Tomato Plant only in Water

Hello Readers! I am here to share my first-ever hydroponics experience with you all.

Last year in the month of December 2021 I was planning to grow my first ever fruiting vegetable plant which is none other than a Tomato Plant on my terrace garden.

To be honest, I had no idea how to grow it in a container, and I was perplexed in making the right choice when it comes to the best potting mixture for my plant. Indeed, I was also not sure how much sunlight would it require, how often should I water it, and what nutrients should it be proffered with.

Being a plants enthusiast, I started exploring plant websites on the internet. I watched many videos, and luckily, in a matter of two days, I was completely ready to grow my first ever tomato plant at my place.

However, I always possess a curiosity to do something different every time I do something new. So, I planned to grow the tomato sapling in absolute normal water with the technique of hydroponics.

Hydroponic growers too grow their plants in water only but the difference here is, they put additional nutrients in the water to feed their plants. However, I didn’t add any nutrients to my tomato plant and I wanted to see how it will grow.

December 17, 2021

My hydroponics experiment journey began on December 17, 2021, the day when I formed a base for my hydroponic set-up. I used a medium-sized glass jar and placed it in an empty iron basket and some stones just to provide some support to the jar.

I also added a few droplets of seaweed solution in the water so that my plant remained aloof of any sort of transplantation shock.

I placed a siever net upon which my plant grew with its roots entirely dipped in the water.

To make sure that this siever remained in place, I used some stones around its circumference.

In order to give better support to my plant sapling, I fixed a tiny container with the hole in the siever and placed some small stones inside it.

December 28, 2021

After 10 days, I noticed that my plant was doing quite well. In fact, it was ready to bloom 3–4 tiny flowers, which would give rise to fruits.

As I picked up the siever, a tiny taproot and some fibrous roots were clearly visible, and this was certainly a piece of good news because my plant was happy growing in that seaweed-enriched water.

January 8, 2022

On this day, the flower buds of my plants started unfolding, with its roots grown even longer in the water.

However, I observed some of its lower leaves drying up. On this day, I changed the water once and even did some hand pollination so that the flowers could turn into fruits, and I could get some organic tomatoes.

February 6, 2022

On this day, I finally met a tiny tomato, so small and cute, and green too, because it still needed some time to get ripened.

I once again changed the water and put the siever back on it, with my plant’s roots dipped in the water. Since the jar had some muddy deposits on its inner walls, I thoroughly cleaned it with my hands first and then poured water into it.

February 13, 2022

I noticed that only one flower converted into a fruit, the rest flowers dried up. The roots looked thick and dense this time.

March 5, 2022

Well, my tomato grew a bit bigger, but the rest of the plant started giving up because it was drying up. The color of the tomato was turning into pale yellow at this time.

March 11, 2022

Well, not to much surprise, the whole plant dried up by this date, but the tomato looked a bit ripened.

March 15, 2022

My plant gave up completely four days later, turned brown, but the tomato turned orangish-red this time. So, I plucked the tomato.

I have also covered a complete video of my journey, and you can watch it here.

Considering my first ever attempt with hydroponics, and hardly with any nutrients, I feel this was a good experience. I might try something like that again, and will keep you guys posted.

Thank you for being a part of my journey.

--

--

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness

Terrace Gardener🌱 Blogger✍🏻 Deeply obliged to mother Earth, a plant influencer and a nature lover.