Future of Education

Education Unbound
Age of Awareness
Published in
9 min readMay 22, 2018

This is so amazing systems in learning is a lot of work with and I need to just spend a few of the affection of a minute explaining the that first bit which is what he is a self-organizing system because people tend to think of it as in its English sense organization of the set.

But is anything but that it’s completely different the self-organizing system is the system up underpaying Ogata preacher whatever.

Which can produce order out of this order. Sometimes we call it spontaneous order. And you can see that the actual all over nature and all over society action. I once did a study on now of on a subject which you cannot study in England which is what happens to a traffic junction if the traffic lights fade. You can very easily study this in India.

The study is in India for a while and a and was able to do a two to initial it over a period after the initial chaotic because over.

The vehicles move as though there is an invisible system of traffic lights turning on and off and he was the man thought for that and it was a self-organizing system. I’m I bumped into this kind of accident in the many years ago and in a completely different context. I was doing an experiment which later the press called the hole in the wall the experiment was a simple what would happen to children to put children.

If I give them a computer with an internet connection this experiment was done in nineteen ninety-nine so don’t think of it in the distance.

So, these would be children who would have who would not know what a computer is within all heard of the internet. They wouldn’t they don’t know any English.

And I got a lot astonishing result far surpassing anything that I had expected. What I’d expected wasn’t I would do no they proudly show that the children can take a few first steps two words understanding the computer. What I didn’t realize what I hope to tell you the story off is that the one they showed me in that that experiment was a result that would change primary education.

In the whole world so what happened next was that I saw the children take the first steps.David started fiddling with the computer that you know of who live with doing the kind of things you might expect.

They learn that occurs, so we changed into a hand and if you click on that and something happens a couple of days later.

I phoned the somebody had downloaded a game and it installed that was supposed to happen.

I had people said on this is the no nonsense as you’re sitting in Delhi and the in app called creek part of town with the full of programmers and all sorts of things somebody showed that.

So, I repeated the experiment about three hundred miles away from daily and a in a village where the chances of that bossing software professionals would be a little.

Hi, went back after a couple of months and found children playing all sorts of games and so on.

Exactly as they’ve done in Delhi. Except that this time unknown when they saw me they said we need to foster process and in a better mouse.

Violence and how do you know all this stuff. And they complained they said you’ve given us a machine that works only in English so to use it we’ve had to teach us as English.

No that was also not supposed to happen that way. So, I started that’s how I got into education which is not my feelings and my feet as physics.

And I started to continue experimenting though a whole bunch of them I would go over the over all of them, but I was able to show in a bead of about five or six years’ time.

That the groups of children left unsupervised with the internet all the words are important groups of children unsupervised in a safe and public place with the internet can learn how to use it learn how to search improve their math include dating they should improve the pronunciations on so what have I kept pressing the limits.

Twelve-year-old Tamil speaking children in an Indian village and teach them says the first-year undergraduate material on how the DNA molecule he produces in biotechnology.

I continued to experiment I did some measurements and move away and finally. One day while I was doing all this on the new president of a city. A school teacher from gates said into my room and then with Emma and she said what about us.

So is it would be what would you a million is going to visit schools developed economy you don’t have any problems at all I mean my work has to do with really poor children sought.

What am I taking me to county Durham she told me all through got almost without them blend and she sold me the schools in dollars remotest areas.

And to I had I had no idea I had never seen that England before and I said my god this is full of problems is different kinds of problems it’s not problems entirely of money but its problems with other things got problems to do with obsolescence problems to do with my job’s going away problems to do with alcoholism and so on so I’m.

I started to work with Emma so am I said. Let’s do the hole in the wall in England. I said you must be out of your mind if you do the hole in the wall in England all you’ll get a frozen child.

Is it true food ridiculous whether he. So then given the body of activity with my colleagues saying I know maybe we can put in these halogen heating lamps like they have a side of.

Some of those we wonder what we did finally was turned the hole in the wall inside out is very easy to do room.

Remove all the fun is in everything wouldn’t about lets up within five computers with big screens okay I tell you in a moment why big screens big screen.

You let in about the children and you ask them a question. I call this place in the big question they must be interesting be questions. And the ads as difficult dances can be as difficult as you want Beyoncé’s can be unknown doesn’t it.

The heart of the matter and then you tell them I will give you some time usually about thirty minutes or so you’ve got to tell me.

What’s the answer and what you get inside the room then is the hole in the wall and these children to them English is not foreign language.

They flew you know I saw them fly in gates said. So I’ve been a teacher almost all my life said to you know makes me.

Really sad to ride that with the data shows me the evidence what’s happening there is a generation growing up is capable of learning anything by themselves under the right circumstances and who do not constantly tell them that can be true.

What about in a moment I’m in the middle of all these experiments I found out another thing that If you when the children are doing this researching and writing about and making a noise and so on and so forth.

If you go up to them if if a non-threatening figure. Everybody not knowledgeable but friendly goes up to them and says well that’s fantastic how do you do that.

The process seems to amplify I called in the grandmother’s method. And I wrote an article in the man the guardian saying if you had a British grandmother if you have internet and the web camera can you give me one hour of your time for free.

And I got hundreds that about six hundred of them now you know I know I know mobility grandmothers than anyone in this room.

They called the granny clout and you can use guide to beam them in to edge teachers cannot go with destruction don’t teach this than mine.

So, the presence of a friendly mediator can improve self-organized learning I was beginning to suspect that the standard what we would see is spontaneous order.

That in a semi chaotic if you can set up a semi chaotic educational environment.

You will get spontaneous order and like most other spontaneous or they contradict what it would be you going to decide where it will go.

But it will go some way we called it a self-organized learning environment very simple.

He’s got broadband it’s got collaboration and it’s got admiration as the three components. I mean you get the idea, but it is very noisy, and you get to do all the things are not allowed to other ways to which is run around talk to each other look at each other’s work discuss.

There is no I don’t help available there is if there is a teacher she’s always somewhere. Otherwise you won’t get that spontaneous order. But there’s a problem.

This method the souls spread across England it spread across Europe North America South America and then invited.

With tens of thousands of schools all of them reporting the same thing but there was a problem.

All this is said to do years before the end of school we have to stop all this nonsense because that is an examination.

And in that examination, none of this would happen.

You must do other things. So, I looked at the assessment system.

And discovered something interesting this is you know this is a picture of an office from about eighteen ninety or something like that.

No telephones no internet smooth with no machines at all. These people had to do the work that machines do today and they were required in millions the whole world had to run with these people.

The Indian education the examination system today in twenty fifteen. You get the idea what’s happening there we’re preparing an entire generation for employers.

Who did this what are we teaching them be silent learn to read renter rights to do it it’s magic in your head.

Read and understand instructions and follow them do not ask questions and under no circumstances should you be creative.

I mean if you don’t want to create a flood.

Our creative assembly line work of who you know you can imagine what that will do to your product. You don’t want to create a robot. But then this is the word for which we must prepare our children. It looks more like the hole in the wall that it looks like that at the office from the eighteen nineties. So, should not the examination system look like that’s what I’m working on right now.

We will have to say I love the internet into the examination hall and changed into a system the guy who writes the questions as to a different beat the teacher Wheaties differently the band into says don’t keep standing at your phone was a normal attention to the internet and learn how to search property so I.

I examined with the examination system is like actually and I have a couple of examples survey interesting this is that you know of which term is often used to describe the US of ninety-two into the roaring twenties of leaving twenties I mean is there is it to what will happen to your life if you don’t know that.

With his little of which of the following is a carboxylic acid.

You know the gobbledygook over the book and that would be good if you don’t know that the city finished.

You know who in the whole of the animal kingdom is interested in carboxylic acid snakes.

But in twenty thirteen I got this prize and setting up the seven laps across the five in India I have said them up five in India do in England and over a one and a half of a year over a two-year period with see what happens I I’m not going to talk about that.

I’ll tell you what the film was a hoot about five places in India going from the remotest parts of India.

A true to urban middle-class India and into a middle class written.

The idea is to find out and we do a self-organized learning environment remotely.

This is what they look like this isn’t dealing with the quite simple they look like basically cyber cafes for children thats Newton Aycliffe.

So that a private school in moderation a village in bingo and made a modest in the Sundarbans delta cover the Ganges meets the sea there’s nothing there no electricity no healthcare no schools at all.

And made a modest in the Sundarbans delta cover the Ganges meets the sea there’s nothing there no electricity no healthcare no schools at all.

So you know when the the main mode of transportation understand it used to be Hoss and that is for one last five thousand years until the autumn of either invented. And the horses went but something has happened which we didn’t expect.

STEAM Resources For Teachers

--

--

Education Unbound
Age of Awareness

http://www.educationunbound.org/ provides steam resources for best education approach that highlighted the field of Science and technology.