Education

Gifted Education Is “Special” Education

Different needs still require different approaches, regardless of where they fall on the continuum

Jillian Enright
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Created by author

First off, I don’t particularly care for the term “special education” for any type of unique academic needs, and I particularly dislike the term “special needs” for children with disabilities.

These terms clump a vast range of disabilities and differences into one category, “othering” neurodivergent and disabled students, implying they do not belong with the majority of their classmates.

The term special needs is incredibly imprecise. There are a large number of differences and disabilities, and the majority of neurodivergent and disabled people, including myself, prefer identity-first language.

My experience

When my son’s school was failing to meet his needs, I began calling around to see what programming was available nearby.

One principal I spoke with told me “ We don’t have gifted education in Manitoba because all kids are gifted.”

Um. No.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Age of Awareness

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.