How Do I Explain the Israeli Human Rights Violations Against Palestine to My Students?

They are noticing these atrocities

Edward West
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Trym Nilsen on Unsplash

My students are in middle school and they catch the headlines. By now, most have seen the headlines as to what is going on in Palestine. I am not sure what to say to them. They ask me why don’t we do anything about this as the United States? How can I tell them that we are actually funding these human rights violations and terrorism?

I know there are some teachers out there with a strong approach to topics like these so I am really asking for help in this. How can we explain to these youth that our taxes are going to fund these murders of children? I know that this could be a great teaching moment to explain the lasting impacts of colonialism and capitalism but how do I tie it all together for the students?

Do I bring up how Obama gave $38 billion in military funding to Israel? Do I trace it back farther? How do we address these atrocities that our students are taking note of?

“More recently, in fiscal year 2019, the US provided $3.8 billion in foreign military aid to Israel. Israel also benefits from about $8 billion of loan guarantees. Almost all US aid to Israel is now in the form of military assistance, while in the past it also received significant economic…

--

--

Edward West
Age of Awareness

STEM Teacher | Write about my struggles in and out of the classroom (trying my hand at gardening)