How I Passed the Level I CFA Exam in 6 Months

Despite having no prior financial knowledge

Allison Cecile
Age of Awareness

--

Studying and preparing for the CFA exam
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Achieve one of the highest distinctions in the investment management profession: Become a Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA®). As a CFA charterholder, you will have the knowledge and the skills to thrive in the competitive investing industry.
- CFA Institute

The Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA) Exam is a notoriously challenging set of three exams for aspiring investment professionals. The average pass rate for Level I is 38%, for Level II it is 43%, and for Level III it is 54%. Written in over 180 cities globally, it is not an exam to be taken lightly.

When I first announced to my friends that I signed up for this exam, they looked at me like I had three heads. Almost all of them asked me why. A few asked if I was crazy.

Why does an engineer who’s already well on her way to building a career with a respected international company suddenly decide to put herself through the CFA® program? Most assumed I had my eye on some grand, elaborate career plan and that the CFA® was merely a stepping stone.

So when I told him honestly and truthfully that I was feeling bored and was looking for something mentally stimulatinging, their shock only increased. A few more questioned my sanity.

--

--

Allison Cecile
Age of Awareness

I write so that my dog can live a spoiled life of luxury || 8X Top Writer