How I Used GPT for Student Feedback in More Human Ways

Lance Cummings PhD
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2023

--

Image generated by artspace.ai (affiliate)

As we’ve seen in the last few weeks, writing dialogue is an interesting area to explore the limits and capabilities of AI.

➡️ You can read about my previous explorations here.

Since GPT is a language module that predicts text based probabilities, it has trouble with things like subtext. It can achieve this with some prompting… but it will be a predictable subtext.

AI will not write any ground-breaking dialogues. While prompt-engineering can improve outputs, most serious writers won’t be happy with the results.

This week, I tested out using AI as a form of commenting on the dialogues my students wrote. While AI has difficulty writing engaging dialogue itself, I found it offered helpful comments and even detailed suggestions.

How I Did It

Once my students posted a story, I cut and paste it into ChatGPT with the following prompt:

You are professor in rhetoric and writing teaching a course on AI & Digital Storytelling. You recently assigned students to write 250 word micro stories that incorporate dialogue. Here is how we define good dialogue:

I also pasted the 4 tips for writing dialogue that we used to both write and generate different versions of dialogue.

--

--

Lance Cummings PhD
Age of Awareness

🍎 Best practices for creating content, using AI, and fostering creativity | 🎯 Building a community of creator teachers on Medium