How to Become More Self-Aware

What I’ve done to increase self-awareness and become a better person

Madison Schott
Age of Awareness
Published in
7 min readJul 27, 2021

--

Woman meditating during sunset
Photo by Dingzeyu Li on Unsplash

Self-awareness is one of the most important traits a person can possess. Self-awareness is the key to having successful relationships, doing well in your career, and becoming the best version of yourself. It is one of those traits that can be applied to all different areas of your life in order to make it better.

I wasn’t always self-aware. Quite frankly I was the exact opposite. As a child I would lash out and say things to people, and then never understand the consequences. I think this is typical of children, after all self-awareness is a skill that is learned and practiced over time. However, not all children grow to be self-aware adults. A lot of times, if we don’t actively work on perfecting the skill, it never properly develops.

Becoming self-ware isn’t something I actively sought out as I got older, it just kind of happened with the things I was doing and how I was reflecting on life. Now, it is something I am very conscious of and always trying to improve.

Spend time alone

A lot of my self-awareness was developed during periods of my life when I felt really alone. Two particular times stand out to me- sophomore year of college and studying abroad in London.

--

--

Madison Schott
Age of Awareness

Analytics Engineer @ ConvertKit, author of the Learn Analytics Engineering newsletter and The ABCS of Analytics Engineering ebook, health & wellness enthusiast