How to Unlock the Power of Your Threshold Consciousness

Learn how to mine your subconscious for creative solutions and ideas to help you get unstuck.

Jeffrey Bates
Age of Awareness

--

My best ideas kept happening when I was half-awake. On a typical morning, I’d lie in bed, barely awake. My cloudy mind would start to wander, and all kinds of strange ideas and disconnected thoughts would appear. Then suddenly, a concept for a design problem I was working on would pop into my head. If I stayed in that sleepy state, sometimes a clever headline would barge its way into my internal monologue.

The solutions I found most valuable always seemed to originate in the fleeting moments between waking and getting up.

Over time, I realized something fascinating was happening during these waking moments. I researched sleep states and discovered I was beginning to utilize the transitional state of threshold consciousness. I wanted to learn how to extend and possibly control these waking moments, then figure out how to capture the ideas, thoughts, and other sensations that materialized.

What is threshold consciousness?

Hypnagogia is the experience of either transitional state from wakefulness to sleep or sleep to waking up. These states are commonly called half-asleep…

--

--

Jeffrey Bates
Age of Awareness

Highly experienced creative director writing on design thinking, sports, and life. Design: jeffrebrands.com | For fun: createanddestroy.com