Inspiration From a Monk: Building A Fire In The Jungle

If you’re already doing it, don’t stop.

Michael Howkins
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Haut Risque on Unsplash

A few years ago, when I lived in Canada, a monk had come over from India and he was traveling around the country, giving talks and classes on spirituality. During this time I had the fortunate opportunity to follow him for a week, attend his classes and absorb as much as I could from his teachings.

He spoke many inspiring and humbling things, as monks tend to do. But of all the things I learned from listening to him, there was one thing in particular that has always stayed with me. It continues to be a source of inspiration to this day. It was nothing majorly profound or cryptic. It was just a simple story. A single, beautiful metaphor.

Through this story, he was conveying to us the importance of having a regular meditation practice, what some of the pitfalls might be, and how we can overcome them. And although for me, nothing is more important than having a regular spiritual practice, I’ve come to realise that this metaphor has endless applications.

If you’re a writer, an athlete, a new mother, or building a business, this story can assist you in summoning your own determination, tenacity and resilience. It can show you that your efforts are not in vain. That the light does grow brighter.

--

--

Michael Howkins
Age of Awareness

I write for several publications, including The Startup and The Ascent. A lifelong seeker. I write about what it means to live consciously and authentically.