Is It Just Me or Is Something Wrong with Grammarly?

It doesn’t seem to be working as accurately as it used too

Aria Dailee
Age of Awareness

--

Image of a yellow book titled, “Everyday English” on top of a table.
Photo by Ivan Shilov on Unsplash

Have you noticed that Grammarly hasn’t been as accurate lately? I’ve been writing and sending my posts to a variety of publications in an effort to try to get my name out there. Many publications suggest that you use Grammarly to prevent easily fixed grammatical and spelling mistakes, but lately it’s Grammarly that’s been making the mistakes.

At first, I thought I was crazy because it’s not completely wrong all of the time. However, I think that Grammarly’s programming has changed recently which made it not as accurate as before. I’m sure this will be fixed eventually, but it made me realize that I sometimes rely way too much on a program to catch my mistakes for me.

Don’t get me wrong, most of my mistakes are typos, not grammatical, but regardless, I’ve come to expect a program to tell me or automatically fix errors. There are many reasons why the concept of Grammarly is amazing. It helps so many people in so many ways. However, Grammarly is making me lazy the more reliant I become on it. And if it wasn’t for this error, I probably wouldn’t have noticed.

--

--

Aria Dailee
Age of Awareness

Research geographer whose mind is full of too many thoughts to keep to herself. ➽➽ Newsletter: https://bit.ly/3qyllEM ➽ My Socials: https://linktr.ee/ariadailee