Is our civilization going to collapse?

And if yes, how do I deal with this?

B. Lorraine Smith
14 min readOct 15, 2023
Excerpt from Winston Churchill’s “Great Contemporaries” below, in which his reflections on a fellow future head of state offers me a touchstone to know I am not crazy.

Do I think our civilization is going to collapse? I get asked a version of this question a lot. Mostly people want to tell me what they think, so it’s more of an opening to unload their views than a question. That’s okay — I appreciate different views. But I’ll answer the question anyway.

Simply put, no, I don’t think our civilization is going to collapse. I think it is collapsing already, right now. I’ll explain why I think this, and what I do about it. First, I’ll offer moral support since this is an emotionally challenging topic. Second, I’ll clarify “our civilization”. Then I’ll explain how I deal with the collapse. (I also include more about my context, in an appendix, so you can assess my credibility for yourself.)

Moral support to keep handy

What I’m going to share is existentially disturbing. I generally avoid sensationalism in my writing, and I will here too. I’m not going to plaster images of raging fires and desperate people fleeing disaster, nor list stats about insect decline and rising sea levels.

But I’m also not going to tip-toe around the truth as I perceive it.

--

--

B. Lorraine Smith

Former sustainability consultant replacing ESG with reality-based insights about corporate purpose and impact. https://www.blorrainesmith.com/