Is the Coronavirus the End of the Zero Waste Movement?

I am struggling. I want to do the right thing but what is right in times of a pandemic?

Karo Wanner
Age of Awareness

--

Zero waste
Photo by Laura Mitulla on Unsplash

I am following a low-waste lifestyle for 2.5 years now, but recently I have been struggling to put zero-waste first. Is it still safe to consume food in bulk? Will the take-away place accept my food box from home? Will I transmit the virus to the friendly shop owner? Even the coffee chain Starbucks has banned reusable cups from their stores temporarily to protect its customers and employees.

Is the coronavirus the end of the zero-waste movement? It has just taken off within the last 2 years reaching a market size of 1.2 billion in France alone. The coronavirus is a backlash, no question, but how can we pursue a zero-waste lifestyle and support this movement during times of a pandemic?

As long as I am standing, it’s gonna take more than a pandemic for me to put aside my values. — Bea Johnson, founder of the Zero Waste Movement

Is it safe to use reusable cups and containers?

We are just at the beginning of understanding COVID-19. Nobody can give a guaranteed answer. The only thing we…

--

--

Karo Wanner
Age of Awareness

Helping you become more MINDFUL & cultivate PEACE of mind 🧘‍♀️ Read Mindful Monday 📖 Join 1.2k+ Mindful People for FREE ⬇️ 👉 https://bit.ly/Be_Here