It Takes 9 Days To Fill the Fuel Tank of a Cruise Ship

And that’s enough for only one day

Harley Jane
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Alonso Reyes on Unsplash

My friend just told me he would be staying on the twelfth floor of a cruise ship.

The twelfth floor?!

That might not come as a surprise to you, but I have never been on a cruise ship before. I have never seen one up close or in-person unless it’s miles out to sea where it looks like the size of an ant. If you had asked me, I would have guessed that a cruise ship has maybe four or five floors, not twelve! And that isn’t even the top floor. I think there are fifteen floors on the particular “boat” my friend will be enjoying.

It got me thinking how much fuel a ship like that must use. As a math nerd, I started geeking out on the numbers.

They are shocking.

More than a lifetime’s worth of fuel in one day

A quick google search will let you know that the average cruise ship uses 81,000 gallons of fuel per day. That’s not a typo.

Per day!

To put this into perspective, I started thinking of my personal fuel consumption. I consider myself to be an average user. I fill up my 18-gallon tank about once per week, meaning I would need to fill up 4,500 times to equal that of…

--

--

Harley Jane
Age of Awareness

Animal lover, numbers nerd, CPA. Writing on various topics including animals, personal growth, soul searching, entrepreneur journey, and some comedic relief.