It’s not Christmas until your tree is topped with a glowing Rhombicosidodecahedron

I’ve slowly become obsessed with Snapology and now see origami spheres as the unnecessary solution to already solved problems.

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness

--

Snapology origami tree topper with LEDs powered by the Raspberry Pi Pico

I have seen how pleasing the throw of light can be from light sources placed inside Snapology origami, so when thoughts turned to Christmas decorations the idea of a Snapology tree topper seemed to almost float up from my subconscious.

My sunrise lamp combines Snapology with a Raspberry Pi powered NeoPixel LED ring to create beautiful patterns on the ceiling.

I thought I’d keep my tree topper simple and use far fewer pieces than I had with my previous models. There is a whole world of complex polyhedral shapes with names almost too silly to be real, but I settled on a rhombicosidodecahedron (named not by Lewis Carol but Johannes Kepler). They have 30 square, 20 triangular and 12 pentagonal faces.

--

--

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness

A school teacher and family man in the UK who likes tinkering with code and who sometimes tries to write good.