Lessons Learned After Being Away From Home Since 9th Grade

Faced the real scenario of life

Maryam Merchant
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I was born and brought up in a small village. Where I lived with my huge extended family. We all were interconnected and were leaving happily with little we have but education was not so good. And my parents wanted to give me a good education.

After many years, my parents took a small flat in one of the cities. So, they wanted me to shift there for my education. So, I left home in my 9th grade. Where my Mom lived with me for some period of time. And then I was searching for some roommates. So, I can share my expenses with them.

A village girl came to the city. A girl who was shy and doesn't talk to people much. A girl who was frightened and was afraid about taking new steps. A girl who wasn’t aware of city life came to the city.

It was hard for me. No parents to support. No spoon-feeding. A lot of responsibility on my head. I need to handle home all alone with some of the roommates with the study as my main priority. I need to manage the bills, cleaning, cooking everything.

Even in a school with so many modern people around. I was quiet. I didn't utter many words only spoke when it was necessary. My job was just to go to school, study, and come back home and handle home at the same time.

--

--

Maryam Merchant
Age of Awareness

Data Scientist | Love to write | Family First | Lot to learn from life | Taking one step at a time