Love in a time of worm composting

More than you knew you needed to know about getting started with worm composting at home

B. Lorraine Smith
Age of Awareness

--

Worm-composting is the ultimate portal to connectedness and renewal. In this article I’ll (mostly) stick to practical stuff to get you started. (All photos by me.)

A dear friend asked me if I have tips for getting a worm composter started. As I began to answer, I realized I have been meaning to write about this for years.

So, to all the worm compost-curious folks out there, this one’s for you. I will share three guiding principles and a nine-step process, learned over 25 years of worm composting.

Worm composting is very simple. The human’s job is to create the right conditions and get out of the way.

Warning: If this seems TLDR, at least search below for the word “disaster” and take notes. Worm composting is simple but it takes some learning. If you just want official expertise and products, here’s the ultimate source: Worm Farming Secrets.* (But maybe still search for “disaster” below.)

Honestly, I don’t understand why we’re all taught to brush our teeth and say “please” and “thank you” while worm composting remains shrouded in mystery. The benefits are collective, reducing pressure on waste collection systems. Individuals benefit, too — we get amazing soil out of the deal.

The benefits of worm…

--

--

B. Lorraine Smith
Age of Awareness

Former sustainability consultant replacing ESG with reality-based insights about corporate purpose and impact. https://www.blorrainesmith.com/