Why I Wanted to Be a Teacher

“Money” or “experience”? And the winner is…

Erik P.M. Vermeulen, PhD
Age of Awareness

--

Photo courtesy of author

“Do you want to be a teacher?”

It didn’t take long for me to answer the question.

I had several other job offers. The non-teaching jobs would have immediately resulted in six-figure salaries and other significant perks. Car. Representation allowance. Smartphone. Status.

But it isn’t all about the money.

I felt attracted to the teaching profession. I had given presentations to bigger audiences before, and I loved it — communicating a clear message and reading the crowd. I had talent. People often told me that when I stood in front of a group, I transformed from a quiet person to a performer that stands out.

And there was more. As a teacher, I had more freedom. At least, I could do the job as I saw fit (in my own unique way). I felt like an artist, an actor, and an entrepreneur at the same time. Busy schedules and a corporate lifestyle wouldn’t dictate my life.

Finally, there was the legacy argument. As a teacher, I would matter to my students. I could make a difference and help them build a career. I wouldn’t live an anonymous life behind corporate walls, immediately expendable and replaceable.

--

--