My Colour Changing Icosahedron Quilt is my Coding Playground

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness
Published in
6 min readSep 30, 2021

--

This quilted icosahedron is packed with 180 RGB LEDs and a pair of speakers, all controlled by a Raspberry Pi. I made it as a learning project and Python playground and as an experiment in light diffusion.

A learning project

After using Adafruit’s NeoPixel rings to create sun and moon wake-up lamps, my mind turned to the possibility of larger scale projects.

I like the idea of hiding light sources in places you wouldn’t expect, especially behind fabrics. I would love to make a stealthy light up fraction wall, or 100 square, which could hang unassuming in my classroom ready to sparkle into life as a teaching aid. This icosahedron project gave me a chance to answer some questions and clear some learning barriers before taking on more complex projects: would I be able to solder, power and program nearly 200 pixels? Is a quilt and cardboard combination a good way to partition LED groups and diffuse light sufficiently?

The icosahedron is printed on a heavy (350gsm) Jersey fabric

I had the icosahedron logo printed on a heavy Jersey fabric, and hoped the…

--

--

Russell Eveleigh
Age of Awareness

A school teacher and family man in the UK who likes tinkering with code and who sometimes tries to write good.