My Experience of Growing Juhi Jasmine in a Container (Jasminum Auriculatum)

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2021
My Experience of Growing Juhi Jasmine in a Container (Jasminum Auriculatum)

Hey guys, in this Gardening story, I will be sharing my experience of growing the Juhi Jasmine Plant in a container. The scientific name of Juhi is Jasminum Auriculatum and it belongs to the family of ‘Oleaceae’.

It is commonly found in India, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and certain parts of the Andaman and Nicobar islands.

I bought this Juhi jasmine plant last year in the month of July 2020, usually when the monsoon season begins in India. This is, in fact, the most preferred time to plant trees, shrubs, vines, or climbers.

If you’re reading this story when monsoons are going on in your region, then I urge you guys to drive to the nearby nursery and purchase your favorite plants and start planting them right away.

So after purchasing the Juhi vine, I transplanted it into 10 inches container. After a few months, I guess in the month of October, I shifted the Juhi plant into the 14 inches container. Actually, my plan was to shift this vine to the larger available container with me so that I can train this vine from my balcony to my terrace garden.

Juhi Jasmine vine reached to my terrace garden from my balcony
Juhi Jasmine vine reached to my terrace garden from my balcony

In the next year i.e. 2021, when the spring season arrived, its growth was nearly doubled and after observing its growth my heart told me to add one more Juhi vine to my collection. Without a second thought, I went to the local nursery and ended up buying two vines instead of one.

Please lemme know in the response section if I am the only one who gets so much fascinated by the plants every time I see them or are you guys more or less similar to me?

The growing conditions of the Juhi Plant:

Sunlight

Sunlight Requirement for Juhi vine (Jasminum Auriculatum)

Though many of the gardeners suggest that Juhi Plant can be grown indoors where it can receive good bright light of sunlight. But that’s not true, what I would really recommend to you all is, to give this plant at least 5 to 6 hours of Sunlight and you will be amazed to see its growth.

In fact, my experience says that it really demands ample sunlight to grow and bloom clusters of flowers. In a nutshell, place the plant where it can receive good sun.

Watering

Photo by Zoe Schaeffer on Unsplash

Like any other flowering vine, it is the thirstiest plant when well established in the pots. But avoid overwatering in the initial stage of planting the plant in a pot, this may lead the roots of this plant to rot very soon.

Fertilizers

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Honestly, it is not that fertilizer-hungry plant. I only fertilized my plant once in the month of February this year with cow dung powder and till now I haven’t fed anything to this vine and it's still growing very well.

But I can’t be that cruel and miser to my plants. So, definitely, I will feed this plant with a good amount of vermicompost very soon.

Pests

Photo by Ante Hamersmit on Unsplash

Till now I haven’t seen any pests or diseases on this plant, so a big thumbs up to this plant if you’re looking to bring a pest-free vine to your home. Just welcome Juhi Jasmine to your home.

Caution:

Photo by Muhammad Daudy on Unsplash

There’s one important thing about this plant that I expect you guys to keep in your mind if you planning to bring Juhi Jasmine home:

Avoid pouring water on the leaves or flowers of this vine because that invites fungus and infections to the plant. In case, some branch of the plant gets infected, then, it is better to trim that infected part of the plant, and detach it from the main vine. This will keep the remaining plant safe and healthy.

Well, that’s all for today and I hope you guys have found my story informative.

Stay tuned for more gardening stories like this. I’ll see you guys very soon. Until then, stay safe, happy, and blooming.

Goodbye!

--

--

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness

Terrace Gardener🌱 Blogger✍🏻 Deeply obliged to mother Earth, a plant influencer and a nature lover.