My Parents Are Wrong

They might experience the collapse after all

--

Desertification is also accelerating fast. Image by _Marion from Pixabay.com

Since I was a teenager, I engaged myself in global issues and activism in some form or another.

I worried about injustice, poverty, and climate change for as long as I remember. And I tried to do what I could to create a better world.

That was my primary motivation for going into teaching, also.

Whenever I speak with my parents about these issues I get the same answers. They share my sentiments. But they always end up saying something like “Thank goodness we are so old. We will be long gone before it gets really bad.”

While that is an awfully apathetic response, I understand it.

I too have a desire to respond with apathy on most days.

I am also going to admit, that many years of activism have not yielded many results. At least not on a global scale.

That leaves me worried. At least in the short term.

--

--

Alexander Benesch, educator, and writer
Age of Awareness

Teacher by trade. Writes mostly about teaching, education, pedagogy, personal growth, and social issues. Also has a blog on https://abenesch.info