New Year’s Intentions

nick fargnoli
Age of Awareness
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2023

A few years back, deep in the clutches of the pandemic, I started writing intentions on New Year’s Day. This may not seem like a big deal to some people, but for me this was a major step. I am not a superstitious, religious or spiritual person. I am cynical, analytical and generally pragmatic. But even I realized that the pandemic was a time to embrace change and try new things. Also, if we are being honest, I had time on my hands.

So on January 1, 2020, I wrote my very first set of intentions on a piece of yellow legal pad paper and posted them on the refrigerator, visible to all who entered my 800 square-foot apartment.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbEVxmC7G5W3iTpoJpvnN_w

What surprised me the most, one year later, was that I had actually achieved most–though, not all–of my intentions. I had internalized my goals and unconsciously made steps to achieve them. I think this happened for a couple of reasons:

  1. I wrote my intentions down. If you write them down, they are more likely to come true. It sounds mystical and gross…but it’s true. I have no idea if this is based in any science, but I know that for me it has worked.
  2. I posted my intentions in a place where I would see them regularly. This was more a function of a lack of space at first, but I found that if I keep my intentions in a conspicuous location, I internalize them and make decisions that help me achieve them.
  3. I based my intentions on character traits that are important to me. I have taken many character trait tests (Check out VIA) over the years and I know what traits are more important to me. Creativity, Innovation, Security, etc. are all part of who I am, so I felt like I should use those to help me design intentions that maximize those aspects of who I am.
Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

Now every January 1st, I make myself a cup of coffee, find a quiet place and write new intentions. This year I wrote 7, but the number of intentions is never important to me. Typically I shoot for 7–10. This year, I will put them on my newly renovated office wall, where I will see them every time we record an episode or I sit down to write a blog. With any luck, this time next year, I will be celebrating the successful completion of these.

--

--