CHANGETHELAUSD.COM

Parents Vs. Teachers?

To provide the SpEd services that a student needs, the IEP team must work collaboratively, recognizing what each member brings to the table.

Carl J. Petersen
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2024

--

____________________________________________

No school can work well for children if parents and teachers do not act in partnership on behalf of the children’s best interests.

– Dorothy H Cohen

Based on photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

As I helped guide my daughters’ journeys through the Los Angeles Unified School District, I can only think of one time when I had a serious disagreement with one of their teachers during an IEP meeting. Already frustrated by a lack of cooperation, I was surprised when I was presented with a writing sample that showed my daughter was showing academic progress that I had not witnessed at home. While my wife and I had tried multiple ways of helping her express herself, we had been unable to coax anything beyond stringing a few words together. However, this teacher presented a full paragraph that gave us insight into what our daughter thought about an activity.

--

--

Carl J. Petersen
Age of Awareness

Parent, special education advocate and former LAUSD School Board candidate. Still fighting for the children. www.ChangeTheLAUSD.com