Please, Don’t Start A Diet This Year

If you want to be healthy, do these things instead.

Jenny Bravo
Age of Awareness

--

This is one of my favorite times of the year.

I love that we’re in the season when everyone wants to better themselves. While I’m not crazy about resolutions, I love that we have a whole new year and everything seems possible and everyone is ready to reach for their goals.

But… I absolutely hate New Year’s diets.

Believe me, I have done them before.

I’ve weighed my food and counted my calories and cut out every type of food you can imagine.

And, I also am recovering from an eating disorder.

There are a few things that I can point to as reasons why my disorder happened. One of them is most definitely from dieting and poor body image at a young age.

I don’t diet anymore and you shouldn't either. In fact, most dieters gain their weight back within the year.

So, skip the diet this year and try these things instead.

Add to your meals; don’t subtract from them

It’s much easier for our brains to digest the idea of adding new things than it is to restricting our food.

--

--

Jenny Bravo
Age of Awareness

I write books and help authors through personal trial-and-error. I write at www.jennybravobooks.com. Other interests include: yoga, coffee, and my dog.