Santa Monica Pier, #losangeles #usa- Famous Tourist Attraction

Things I wish I knew — travel tips

SunnyLife
Age of Awareness
3 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Photo by Gerson Repreza on Unsplash

Santa Monica Pier is very famous tourist attraction, located in Los Angels, California, USA. People always say if you visit Los Angeles but do not walk at Santa Monica Pier, then your Los Angeles trip is not complete, I agree :).

Beautiful Pier

Beautiful pacific ocean views, beach, loads of creative street artists and performers, and yummy street snacks…we usually do not see these at regular places.

It is not only famous for tourist attraction but also popular for weekend getaway by locals.

Many restaurants on the pier including Bubba Gump Shrimp Co in the famous movie Forrest Gump.

It also has the iconic “route 66 end of the trail sign”, route 66 is USA original highway starting from Chicago and ending in Santa Monica in Los Angeles County, California, covering a total of 2,448 miles (3,940 km).

A small amusement pacific park on the pier provides more fun events.

We have a lot of beautiful memories about our trip there, I put a 2-minute short video at the end so you can see its charm by virtually walking with me. In the video, you can also see the things I wish to know before the first trip and how they looked. I wish all these travel tips informative and help you to make your trip perfect.

Things I wish I knew

  • Fishing area on the pier: it is a relaxing place to have fun fishing, I wish I knew this fishing area before my first visit so I would plan a bit longer time staying there. I love the exciting moment and feeling when fish bites the bait :).
  • Parking: parking is not free at Santa Monica Pier and very crowded, it was about 10 dollar when we visited. But later on we found there is first 90-minute free big parking area at ‘Santa Monica Place’ across the street. I wish I knew this parking place before my first visit so I did not spend a lot of time to try to find parking lot at the pier.
  • Fast food: Because there are so many tourists on the pier, eating there needs more waiting time. We later on found there is beautiful ocean view fast food court with delicious food at ‘Santa Monica Place’ too, it helps if you want to save some money or have limited time staying there.
  • Shopping: ‘Santa Monica Place’ is a beautiful outdoor brand shopping mall including Louis Vuitton.
  • Rinse-off shower: it is located at the beach side to clean kids’ sandy feet and clothes, it helps a lot to keep car clean after getting back from the sandy beach.

If you visit Los Angeles in the future, do come to visit Santa Monica Pier, it well worth the time.

Here is the video. Enjoy and I wish you have a happy travel experience there, cheers~

--

--