DOCTORATE DEGREES

Should You Start a Doctoral Program?

Beverly Payne
Age of Awareness
6 min readJan 29, 2020

--

Some considerations before jumping in

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Teachers find themselves at a point in their careers when they must decide whether to return to school for a graduate degree. Some find it an easy decision, but that is not always the case.

Master’s Degree

For me, I knew I needed a master’s degree in order to do more than teach. Choosing the right program can be tricky. I nearly derailed my efforts by enrolling in a principal program. Fortunately, I realized my mistake after only one semester and moved into the right program. I knew I wanted to work in curriculum and instruction, not manage people — students, teachers, and parents.

For teachers who want to remain in the classroom, a master’s degree is not necessary, although in some situations, having the degree might mean a slightly bigger paycheck. I believe it is valuable to have an advanced degree anyway, though. Why wouldn’t I want a math teacher to pursue additional education in math? Why wouldn’t I want the person to become more knowledgeable of her chosen field? Doing so will benefit our students.

Not everyone feels as I do, however. In fact, North Carolina legislators take a different perspective. A few years ago, they voted to to no longer pay teachers for a master’s…

--

--