BlackLivesMatter

Some Of The Microaggressions Black People Face Everyday

At first glance, they may seem innocent, but microaggressions can be deeply harmful

Matt
Age of Awareness

--

In light of the tragic murder of George Floyd, intense debates surrounding race relations have exploded across the world. One of the most common sources of day-to-day racism is microaggressions.

A microaggression is more than just an insensitive comment or insult, they are specific comments, questions or actions which subject minority groups to their stereotype.

They are frequently used and can come from people who you see as your friends, however, microaggressions leave victims feeling uncomfortable and insulted. In this post, I list are a few examples from my own experience.

“You’re the whitest black person I know”

This suggests that there is a universal way in which one has to act in order to be considered ‘black’. It strips the black community of character diversity and puts our race into a box.

“So are you only attracted to black girls?”

The first time I was asked this was back in primary school and at the time I didn’t think much of it, in hindsight, I think it reflects that child’s juvenility more than anything. However, this is a question which has followed me right through to university and I find that extremely concerning. The idea that black people are only attracted to other black people is deeply racist.

“You don’t sound black”

Similar to the first example, comments like this are another way of categorising black people and suggests that all black people can only speak in a certain way. When this is said, it usually implies that someone didn’t expect a black person to sound articulate, it doesn’t fit their stereotype.

Photo by Gayatri Malhotra on Unsplash

“No but where are you really from?”

When someone replies with this after I tell them that I was born in Wales, it essentially feels like they are just asking why I am black, rather than being genuinely curious about my upbringing. They want to hear that you are from an African or Caribbean country, but it is ignorant to think that a POC could not be born in a country outside of there.

“I’m not racist, I’m friends with loads of black people, like you!”

Having a black friend does not mean that you cannot be racist. This is how we run into the issue of tokenism. You cannot use your black friends as a symbol for your anti-racist approach. You can still have an unconscious bias whilst having a black friend, which is detrimental to the black community.

“Is it okay if I say the n-word?”

It is an offensive slur. I don’t really understand why in any context someone of another race would feel that they need to use this word. Everyone knows how to censor themselves so there truly is no need for them to say it. It is a word which was commonly used to oppress black people, so I don’t understand why some people would still want to use it openly. I just do not get it.

“This country isn’t as racist as it was in the past, things have got better”

This belittles those who are still experiencing racism on a day-to-day basis in current times. Racism is racism. You cannot quantify it. There isn’t one form of it which is more acceptable than the other. This is the kind of thinking which halts progress and suggests that black people should be grateful for not having to face the same level of racism which their ancestors faced. But at the end of the day, they still have to deal with the present-day racism.

--

--