Start reading books: it’s more helpful than you think.

Siddharth Prothia
Age of Awareness
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2022
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

At the start of 2021, I took upon a reading challenge which was to read 1–2 books a month. I mainly did this for self-development, to enhance my vocabulary, and because I wanted a challenge. Though it sounds daunting to people who never read, I can assure you that reading a good book changes ur perspective. I always hated reading, but after finding some really good novels, it’s something I looked forward to.

So from January 2021 to December 2021, I read about 20 books. Here is what as I kept reading:

  • I read faster and absorbed more knowledge than I did in Jan 2021
  • My overall grammar and vocabulary improved significantly
  • It changed my perspective on a lot of topics: nature, politics, etc…
  • As someone who doesn't remember well, reading books improved my memory
  • I actually started to look forward to reading more books and found topics I really enjoyed
  • I felt this sense of accomplishment when reading books

This is what changed for me personally, and can benefit you to different degrees. Reading is also proven to increase intelligence, memory, cognitive ability, destressing, etc….

Reading is definitely a bit dreadful at first if you are not an avid reader, but once you find the golden book, you cannot stop!

--

--