Stoicism Can Be Brutally Toxic

It took me some to realize the problems

Domagoj Lalk Vidovic
Age of Awareness

--

When I first discovered Stoicism, I fell in love with it instantly. My logical brain couldn’t resist this new tool for rationalizing every single thought and event.

The engineering part of my brain was astonished, too—observe everything as a solvable problem, over which you have absolute control? Say no more!

It didn’t take me long to start to experiment with this wonderful philosophy. I wanted to change a couple of things about myself. Thought patterns weren’t always the ones I wanted; modifications were necessary. The powerful tool is here; let’s use it.

If inexperienced, one can hurt oneself with any tool. A hammer can be powerful if one knows how to use it. Otherwise, many smacks over the fingers will appear. A nail might be hammered at the end, but fingers can still get hurt.

Explorations of mind techniques can be extremely painful if one uses them incorrectly. But how can one learn without experimentation?

Therefore, I slammed my mind countless times with Stoicism.

The goal of this article is to share my experience and help you with the adoption of this powerful philosophy.

1 Problem Solved, 3 New Ones Created

--

--

Domagoj Lalk Vidovic
Age of Awareness

CTO & Co-Founder of Sparroww. Owner of @tech_wizzdom. Sharing my thoughts on a journey to become the best version of myself