SWAT Showed Up at My School Yesterday, and Today We’re Closed Due to Another Threat

Three months, three threats, and three times my students were traumatized by the possibility of a school shootings…and it’s only getting worse.

Dawn Bevier
Age of Awareness

--

Image by littlewolf1989 on Adobe Stock.com

Yesterday: Fourth block in my sophomore English class.

“Mrs. Bevier, we barricade with the bookshelf, right?” The question came from one of my panicked fifteen-year-old students. I screamed yes, silently thanking God he remembered the advice I’d given on “lockdowns” at the beginning of the year.

Three varsity football players immediately came to his rescue and pushed the bookcase against the door.

Another student closed the blinds while I gathered students into the corner where they wouldn’t be seen. I didn’t tell her to do this. She knew the “drill.”

I told these students they were heroes today, even though the “lockdown” was a hoax. If an active shooter were on campus, barricading and closed blinds are critical. They knew that. They practiced that.

It’s tragic, isn’t it? That they’re so talented at preparing for the possibility they might have to fight for their lives.

--

--

Dawn Bevier
Age of Awareness

I am a teacher, thinker, learner, and writer. You can reach me at dawn.bevier@yahoo.com