The Art of Hard Work

Ahmed Elmeadawy
Age of Awareness
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2022

Yes. There is art in hard work. Men say you must be “smart” with your work. Yes, one must be organized and thoughtful of his workflow when attempting to achieve a certain task or goal. But all of that, a question is raised.

What does all of that hard work mean? What does it mean but the hard work of the Inner Self? What does it mean to work smart instead of hard, when all that is in your mind is to find the easy, non-painful path? Since when is a path of competency, a path without pain, a path of greatness? The misery of One against the World and, worst of all, One against Oneself?

If you wish to know what is true misery, it is being on the constant mediocre path. The Common Path, let’s call it. The Common Path of work smart not hard mentality. The Path of finding comfortable work for the sake of your Inner Self. The urgent Path for taking breaks, indulging in distractions, and finding comfort in the constant doubt on whether you might have done enough.

Let us say this. Why not embrace the Uncommon Path?

Why not work smart and hard? Why not vouch for the long term rather than look for the short term? Why not have faith in the work, rather than hope for its good end? Why yearn for an unfair reward, when the world is unfair in itself? Why not let go of the end pleasures, and find meaning in yourself in the process of hardship?

Let me ask you, why want an uncommon reward, when your work is not of the Uncommon Path? Do you like to demand as you sit in the crowd, or dare so ask on top of the dangerous hill, with ever so few great men who see the peak of the world and say, “oh you who is unfair to me, I shall not look to your temporary rewards.” The men who are not influenced by the worldly pleasures of the short term, of the Common Path. The men who pursue the Uncommon Path and say, “oh unfair World, oh you who have been created fairly yet treat unfairly, I give you my oath, the oath of work in fairness, in honor, in hopes, and expect nothing from you. For I have put my eyes, heart, mind, and soul to the fairer Being. The One who made you, the One who puts you and me in fair trails. I swear to you nothing from my soul, nor my mind, nor my heart, but my actions will serve none but the Uncommon Path. The Path of pain yet change, influence yet gain, yearning yet serving. Not for my sake, for it is not about me in the end, nor my ego, nor about you. But about the One who brought us here, and placed us in these unfair times, to become fair, when all is unfair. That is what is given by the One who wrote it for you, as well as for me.”

--

--

Ahmed Elmeadawy
Age of Awareness

Egyptian Film Director & Writer. A storyteller looking for where the world needs change.