The Best Way to Love Yourself If You Hate You Right Now

Lukas Schwekendiek
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readJan 19, 2021

--

“I am worthless. I am the scum of the Earth. Nothing I ever did held any value at all. Why should I even be alive right now?” the man exclaimed to his wife.

She looked at him for a while, waiting for his gaze to meet hers, when she said: “That’s okay. I love you anyway.”

“But how? What have I ever done? I hate myself so much! I have hurt you, I have hurt so many others, I have hurt everyone around me. I hate that so much!
I left you when you needed me the most, have abandoned myself along the way and never followed through with anything. So much of my life was wasted and, in the end, I amounted to nothing at all.”

“It’s okay, I love you anyway.”

The man stood there bewildered.

The woman he hurt more than he could have bared, was standing in front of him with nothing but kindness in her eyes.

Not even for a moment did her love for him waver, it did not even begin to falter, and he could not understand it.

“Why? With everything I have done to you… Why do you still love me?”

“Listen” she starts as she takes her hand and rests it against his cheek “I do not need a reason to love you or to feel kindness towards you. You only did what you thought best at

--

--

Lukas Schwekendiek
Age of Awareness

Life Coach, Speaker, Writer. Published on TIME, Inc & Huffington Post. Coaching available again! Email: Lukas.schwekendiek@gmail.com with the word "Coaching"